Do you want to be informed on new Posts on this Thread? (members only)

S&S Swan General - Blue Swan 411 #14
05 March 2021 - 16:06

Blue Swan 411 #14

Hello Family Swan,

This post has been in my "to do" list for the last year... Ill explain.

After one year looking for Grand Soleil 40ies range and not satisfied what I was finding I decided to look other options/oportunities. I saw 2 Swan in Italy mid 2019 and decided to visit.

This visit was the third vist to Nautor Swan´s boat. First was in Barcelona a SWan 36 with the bilge full of salt.

Second north Italy Savona and the third in Trieste.

The boat was defenetly cheap for a Swan, but it was the limit of my budget. Because Im a professional skipper and familiar with boat maintenance I decided to go forward and refit the boat myself. I´ve meet Mt Janko (previous owner) and I imediately had some friendly feeling about him and Blue Swan. Mr Janko started to feel tired (old) and he just wanted to pass the boat to someonelse. Weve made the deal in 10 minutes and I went home to prepare the trip and wait for the paperwork.

So my Swan dream started in August 2019 when I flew back to Trieste to start the passage Trieste - Vilamoura. We were 3 crew. The trip was nice but slow. South of Sardenia we broke the boom and motor sailed all the way to Portugal. A bit anoying but it was a boat delivery. It wasnt a sailing holidays. So we did it- 16 days sailing (motorsailing 8 days).

Ive put the boat in the hard in September 2019 and I started a 9 months refit.

Than all the surprises comed. Osmosis, smile keel (realised the boat runed aground hard and make damage on the keel//hull joint, new rigging, remove the old teak deck, servicing winches, wiring... well a bit of everything. Realised Mr Janko stop doing a properly maintenance in the past years and I had to go back and make it properly.