Do you want to be informed on new Posts on this Thread? (members only)

S&S Swan General - Swan 40 Engine out
04 January 2023 - 17:28

Swan 40 Engine out

Hi all. As I am not very experienced with taking out the engine I would like to ask for suggestions.  

To take my propeller shaft I decided to take out the engine. (Yanmar 3jh3e 40hp).  Now that the engine is out I will take the opportunity to change my alternator for Balmar 120 amp or 170 amps, change the belt to serpentine and do the normal maintenance of a 3000 h engine.  

My question is, as the engine  has 20 years and 3000h what should I take the opportunity to do?  Change all the rubber tubes? Change the engine mounts? 

Any advice is appreciated. 

best

Duarte 

Star Swan 40/047

04 January 2023 - 18:24

Dear Duarte,

be very careful with Balmar alternatopr, as they became very hot in a small compartment as ours are, and their protection trick stops the current output until the temperature starts to descend, I have the Balmar 165 Ah (8 years old now) but had to get a special custom made regulator, in order to keep the output at a lower production.

I had my Yanmar out of the boat after 6.000 hrs and 15 years (it is now 23 years old), changed all rubber hoses and had the fresh water circuit dismantled and cleaned, my mechanic told me if he should work on Yanmar only he would be bankrupt!

My engine mounts are still the original (be careful, never buy engine mounts on original, as they have a diferent absorbtion, calculated on a specific engine), and in perfect condition, so I just suggest to check the originality.

Keep us posted, with photos toO!

All best,

matteo (47/069 Vanessa)

05 January 2023 - 12:14

Dear Duarte,